Blog 4: Social Learning with Twitter

twitter-follow-achiever-300x222

@Tgordon554

In the past I’ve used twitter for personal use, but had never thought of it as a useful teaching resource. I prefer the layout of twitter. With ease I can read through various posts that give a brief description of the attached article or idea without having to leave the main page. If I do find something that catches my interest I can open it up right away or retweet it to help me find it with greater ease later.

Because twitter can be open through its app on the Iphone I can read articles or watch videos anytime. When I have those few minutes of down time I didn’t expect to have I can pull out my phone and read about something new. I also have the ability to share what I’ve read with my followers by retweeting or give feedback to others by tweeting at them or sending a direct message.

I find the shortness of a tweet very helpful. While other may think that you can’t get enough across in 140 characters, I think that it makes the author of the tweet become more creative and direct with the message they are trying to share. Theres no room for fluffy. Because of this I know what the meat of the topic is and don’t end up wasting my time trying to figure out what a blog, article, or other post is about just to realize it something I already know about or am not interested in.

 

Image Credit: http://www.dashe.com/blog/social-learning/twitter-as-social-learning-seven-ways-to-facilitate-the-exchange-of-information/

4 thoughts on “Blog 4: Social Learning with Twitter

  1. I totally agree with your comment about Twitter getting right to the meat of the topic. I chose it for the same reason. The internet is full of useful information-the problem is sifting through it all. Lets get right to the point!

  2. I’m using Twitter too and agree with your points. I think using Twitter as an educational resource can be very useful – I’ve come across many articles I would not otherwise have come across besides from Twitter!

  3. “I find the shortness of a tweet very helpful. While other may think that you can’t get enough across in 140 characters, I think that it makes the author of the tweet become more creative and direct with the message they are trying to share. Theres no room for fluffy”

    Completely agree. Actually have enjoyed the challenge of making an insightful comment with the few letters left when RT-ing articles or blog post.

Leave a Reply

